Chelmsford TUC

TUC & Trade Unions

Essex County Association of Trades Councils

Chelmsford TUC is affiliated to the Essex County Association of Trades Councils.

Known originally as the Essex Federation of Trades Councils when it was established in June 1917, the County Association is the co-ordinating body for trades councils throughout Essex. However, following the General Strike of 1926, it ceased to function until 26 March 1938 when eight trades councils gathered in Chelmsford and it was revived. Before long the Barking, Chelmsford, Colchester, Ilford, Dagenham, Romford & Hornchurch,Thurrock, Southend, Wanstead & Woodford, West Ham and Walthamstow Councils were affiliated.

At one stage there were 21 trades councils within the Federation but by 1959 their number had dropped to 19. The secretaries of the trades councils in Essex today are:-

Chelmsford: A. Coburn.

Colchester: Christopher Burrow.

Harlow: David Foreman

Southend: Ian Pope.

The County Association meets quarterly, normally in Chelmsford; its Secretary is A. Coburn.

Essex County Association of Trades Council’s AGM 2013. It also marked Peter Norfolk’s last day as a delegate to the County Association after 34 years.

Further details on the County Association can be seen on its website.

To view other Trades Council websites, look at our Links to other Trades Councils Page.